RSS

Eavesdropping On a Conversation with Myself

08 Jun

Ever since I was made a member of Poetry Farm, a Lesotho poetry collective as well as the Poetry coordinator in a local newspaper, I’ve always taken it upon myself to help other poets in my country to spread their voices beyond the corridors or the pen and paper and rooms. The following poet gave me her poetry to publish on the Weekly Mail newspaper (a Lesotho free weekly) but I have extended to also publish it on my blog. In the coming posts I will also share her sister’s poetry, truly gifted spirit, Nthati Gifted Nt’sohi


BY LINEO “SHE-HIM” NT’SOHI

As I never did try to exchange blows with affection

For you, even though find myself devoured and incarcerated

By liable efforts of forgetting as though losing you was not a choice

I subconsciously arm with soaring ramparts to be you-proof, although

I am obsessed with the reality that the guard is pointless

As I never lost instead I let you go

 

I swallowed something in my slumber, it felt like

A lump of what might be laments, however that shouldn’t

Matter because when the sun rises I still beam

Or perhaps I’m just losing my wits over what I dread

To be a repetition of my bad history, the history I’ve written over

And over with no fear of it catching up with me

 

There is no denying that I missed you, but

How can I, yet all I knew about was your name

There is however something I missed in relation to you-

Could it be what you used to do to me?

It could never be that you used to me laugh

As I have a mean parse sense of humor not it only though,

And good judgment too.

 

Despite the little distance covered between my eyes,

I have a big brain, big enough to have evaluated from

The onset that you and I, could have never be an US,

 

Although the curse of femininity – HOPE made me believe

If I tried hard enough I could convert you into

The man that I secretly wished you would become

And since life the great coach has trained me to

Not base my existence on expectation,

The failure of my feminine effort

Never got me down, rather inspired me to keep searching

And keep stepping, keep searching and keep stepping

Searching without anticipation of a Bill Gates, a Romeo or Einstein and

Instead of spotting what I thought I needed

It found me

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in Poem, Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Eavesdropping On a Conversation with Myself

  1. sir knowledge

    June 8, 2011 at 8:18 am

    sad but true

     
  2. jeanett moshabe

    December 8, 2011 at 10:14 am

    wow its so amazing

     
    • sechabalb

      December 8, 2011 at 10:24 am

      Glad you liked it, thank you for visiting the blog

       

Leave a Reply

 
